The ULTIMATE Luminae Review - 5/19/19 Summit to Bermuda

Alsmez

My DH and I just returned from a 7-night cruise on Summit in our first-ever Sky Suite, so I thought I'd take a moment to share my review of our Luminae experience. I also reviewed the ship/cruise in general, which you can find here. We have sailed the S-class several times and after our first cruise, elected not to return to the MDR. Since then we have eaten in Blu or specialty restaurants most of the time, but since Summit has limited specialty options, we decided to take the suite plunge and try Luminae.

A bit about me: I am an avid cook, read food blogs/magazines religiously, bake breads and experiment with natural yeasts, make my own cheeses and sausage, and I’ve taken courses in pastry and sugar art. We live in NYC, so we are privileged to be surrounded by some of the world’s finest restaurants, as well as really fantastic ethnic foods. I realize that taste is subjective, but quality and skill of preparation generally are not, so I will try to include both opinions and objective observations here. I know I have high standards, but since Celebrity markets Luminae and the Suite Life as a high-end experience (with a price to match), I feel that they should be up to the task of meeting (or exceeding) them!

Talking about and critiquing food is one of my favorite hobbies, so I apologize in advance for the length of this review. Since a picture (even a poor one like mine) is worth 1,000 words, I have included those as well. I'll put each day in a separate post to make it a little easier to read and digest! And now - the review!

Edited by Alsmez
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I've sailed on Summit and eaten in Luminae many times.  When Luminae first started I thought it was great, but not so great recently.  Just by reading your intro I can look into my crystal ball and predict that you were not happy with Luminae!  I'm looking forward to your comments and opinions.

• Like 3

Sunday, 5/19/19: Lunch