When to be back on the ship during port days?

Hi, it is my first time on a cruise. I am doing a Mediterranean cruise on the MSC seaview. 

On the 4th day we have a port day at Barcelona, and I want to do a hop-on-hop-off bus, but dont know if I will make it back on time. I want to do both the routes (Takes approx 2 hours each if you dont climb off). Our port times are from 08:00 - 17:00. At what time should I be back on the ship?

usually its no later than 30 min before sail away. Please keep in mind traffic.  I was on a hop on hop off on Athens, and there was a demonstration that shut down all the major roads in the area.  The bus driver had to go thru narrow streets, and zig zag around town.  The 1.5 hour route took 3 hours ( luckily we were staying the night in Athens).  There was one person who was on a cruise, and she had to get off at the earliest stop, then had to get a taxi to take her back to port.   Lots to see in Barcelona.  Strolling Las Ramblas, having Tapas and wine for lunch, La Familia Segrada Church ( climb the stairs in the towers to the top... unless y are claustrophobic ).  There is a very old public market on a side street of Las Ramblas ( cant remember the name, but it is HUGE).  Also keep in mind, that some cruise lines no longer dock at the port right in town.  They now dock some distance away.  

• Thanks 1

34 minutes ago, First Time Cruiser1 said:

At what time should I be back on the ship?

it depends on the cruiseline, but latest is usually 30 mins before sailing although it could be an hour, but even if only 30 mins, for peace of mind you might want to plan for an hour before to avoid any last minute panic caused by a delay somewhere along the way.