Florence day tour without museums

waterlegs

I am looking forward to doing a shore excursion to Florence and hopefully Pisa. I am not big into museums however, so wondering what else is worth seeing there? Also, apart from "David" in the Accademia, is there other famous works worth seeing? Which would be best between the Uffizi and Accademia to visit, when I have no real passion or knowledge of art?

While Uffizi and Academia are on many top lists, there is plenty to do in Florence. You can make a day of it without even entering buildings of any kind be they museums or churches. The streets and squares are interesting in an of themselves. A walk to and across Ponte Vecchio is always nice, the outside of the Duomo is impressive. There are the fabulous Boboli gardens across the river as well as Piazzale Michelangelo with fantastic views.

Totally understand that some people don't want to do the museums. Good thing Florence has much more to offer for a daytripper!

Florence is one of those places where you can fill your day just walking around. Some things to try to add to just walking:

Mercato Centrale - the food market in San Lorenzo. I can literally spend a couple of hours there, walking among the stalls, sampling, taking photos of the displays of food, stopping in at one of the stalls and picking up lunch.

San Lorenzo outdoor market - pick up your cheap trinkets and scarves here. If you don't have a problem buying leather goods "Made in Italy" by Chinese laborers in sweatshops in Italy, go ahead.

Santa Croce Basilica and leather school - If you are into famous people's final resting places, this is a good one. Michelangelo, Machiavelli, Galileo, all there. Behind the church is the leather school. Now, if you have the money, THIS is where you want to pick up that purse!!! It is actually a teaching school for leather craftsmen. There are some small items (coin purses, bookmarks) for sale at good prices as souvenirs.