Royal vs Carnival differences

I have been sailing Carnival for 13 years now and enjoy it. I've only sailed Carnival and sail more for itinerary than the ship. We've booked our first RC cruise, Adventure of the Seas, for March of next year because of itinerary.

I'm trying to research what the real differences are between the 2 lines. I've read about 30 threads talking about this, but I keep seeing the same thing over and over - opinions. 20 people say RC has better food and another 20 say Carnival has better food...things like that. What I'm looking for are definitive differences.

I'll start with a few I've found

1. Carnival has Guys for Free, RC has JR for a cost. (free vs cost)

2. Carnival has comedy clubs and RC only has 1 or 2 comedy shows per cruise

3. Carnival does "showtime" in the dinning room where RC does not.

4. Carnival allows you to bring on one 12 pack of soda per person, RC does not allow any.

Thanks in advance for all the help filling out this list.

4. Carnival allows you to bring on one 12 pack of soda per person, RC does not allow any.

Not necessarily true. While its technically against their rules, most people have no problem taking a reasonable amount of soda on a RC ship.

Royal has no equivalent to FTTF and Early Saver.

Royal has no daily limit on drinks from the unlimited beverage packages, nor do they require all guests in a stateroom to buy the same (or any) package.

Royal still has "showtime" in the dining room, though that may vary by ship. Sometimes I see it once per cruise, sometimes twice.

5. Carnival steakhouses will serve you a USDA Prime cut included in the 35.00 pp charge. Royal charges you 18-20 dollars extra on top of the 35.00 charge for "something special". The jury is still out on how "special" those steaks are.

Edited by ryano

this pretty much sums it up: If you want to be treated like a King (or Queen) choose Royal, if you want to be treated like a CLOWN, go with Carnival.