Booking MSC - agent or direct?

seapad

Hi

I'm new to MSC and am planning my 1st cruise with them. I cruised mostly with RCCL, Celebrity, Princess. I usually book my cruises through travel agents, but they do not handle MSC kine. Just wondering if there is any difference - in terms of pricing and promo - to book through agency or direct with MSC?

In my experience, pricing is generally same but agents can sometimes offer extra OBC or other amenities. Being new to MSC, I don't know what their policy is, and whether it makes sense to book directly with them....

Thanks for any advice/tip.

I usually book on-line after comparing prices and itineraries on vacations to go and cruise.com.

Same with hotels and flights. OBC's and freebies are very overrated. A bit like paying hundreds too much for a product just to get the free tote-bag.

Booked my current MSC cruise for next month at rock bottom inside guarantee cabin on the MSC USA site, paid it in full with the booking and was quite surprised to receive a balcony suite. No TA and no calls.

Booked my current MSC cruise for next month at rock bottom inside guarantee cabin on the MSC USA site, paid it in full with the booking and was quite surprised to receive a balcony suite. No TA and no calls.

NIce one! :cool:

You must be the lucky one. I booked once with MSC directly and once with a TA and both times got bumped out of my cabin (which was not a guarantee) and moved to a less desirable one, without even being notified. On the MSC direct booking I got my cabin back after much back and forth, but on the TA booking they pretty much said tough luck. So for me it's a tough call because I've gotten better service on my direct booking, but better pricing thru a TA.

I (in the US) always use my TA. She is the best. Will call when there is a price reduction, OBC, gratuity increase. I don't watch for those things. She can call and get my list of things answered and I don't waste my time.