Alaska: Interior Room or Oceanview

Hi,

We are planning on booking the Radiance southbound itinerary to Alaska for next summer. In searching for a room, there are a few things that I'd like some insight on.

First, because it is the southbound route, it seems that you'd get better views on the port side. Is this the case or does it even matter?

Second, if we are unable to get an ocean view room on that side of the ship (it looks like most of them are gone already) we will have to book an interior. Do you really miss a lot of the Alaskan cruising experience having an interior room? I've been on several cruises before and usually seek out interior rooms because of the price but thought that it may be better to have some kind of view to the outside in Alaska (and being a teacher, I can't justify dropping a months paycheck to have a balcony or higher).

Thanks for any tips.

There are multiple schools of thought as far as cabins for Alaska. Some say, for a southbound trip you have to have a port side balcony. Others say, a balcony is a waste of money because you spend all your time on the upper decks, so it doesn't matter.

We are doing Alaska on Radiance southbound next May and have an aft facing balcony, so we didn't follow either of those schools of thought.:D

I would just price the cabins and go with what suits your budget. Even if you do get an oceanview cabin, you are most likely going to be up on the upper decks anyway.

We were on Radiance last month. We booked a balcony cabin on the port side. In hindsight the location did not matter. When there was scenery to see, we were on one of the upper decks so we could move from side to side. I would book an oceanview as opposed to an interior just so you knew when there were things to look at outside. As for viewing, the best side to be on is the outside.