After going large can you go small again - Enchantment of the Seas trip report

gatour

Short answer is yes you can.

A bit of background. We are in our mid 50's without children. I have been cruising since 1981 on all of the major lines. Besides RC, we have done Princess, Disney, Carnival, HAL, and Carnival. I am partial to Princess but due to the lack of Princess cruises out of Florida during our vacation time frames we have been doing Royal Caribbean cruises recently.

For the last five or six years we have been doing jumbo and super jumbo ships (the Freedom and the Oasis class ships). So this was going to be a change of pace for us.

Even though I have this report completely wrote up, I am going break it down in blocks and post over several days. Please feel free to jump in with any questions. I also have the Cruise Compasses for each day. In addition I grabbed the Baby/Tots and Teens flyers.

Two weeks before the 15 Oct sailing we booked the Enchantment. Months ago we had booked the 9 November sailing. It is the weekend before our marriage 20 years ago on 14 November, our honeymoon cruise started on the Enchantment following day, 15 November. So the 15 October boarding was a fortuitous coincidence (19 years and 11 months)

The reason why we did this impromptu booking, was that we had talked about doing a trip during the week of 15 October. A couple months ago I had researched going to Savannah, Ft Lauderdale or St Pete but had not booked anything. So two week before, my wife suggested a cruise might be cost effective. I did quick research and confirmed that the rate were cost effective. Basically, for the cost of a hotel room for 4 nights in any of those cities, we could get a room on the Enchantment and food. It was a no brainer.