Dilemma: Upgrade JS Special or Stay With Friends

Please help me make up my mind.

We are on the Mariner in Jan 08 E1 cabins in a row on Deck 8 with friends and family in group status.

There is a senior discount for JS now $1299.00 pp. Normally $1499 pp.

I am paying $1119.00 pp for E1.

No one age 55 or older wants to upgrade. Most are not quite 55 yet. If I would upgrade I would be in a location away from everyone.

However, no one is trying to obtain Diamond Status which is my goal. I am just starting out.

I would get credit for 2 cruises in a JS.

It would be a larger room if we get together.

DH says do what I want but we are thinking will we be sorry being seperate from everyone else? We would be on Deck 9.

Any feelings on the subject would be appreciated...

Thanks Laura

Upgrade! You'll be with your friends for plenty of time on the cruise - dinner, other meals, excursions you've planned jointly, poolside or whenever you decide to meet.

We never travel next door to our travelling companions. We like to have a complete escape where it can be just the two of us and just meet up for cocktails and dinner in the evening. Then we can share our day's events with each other. If we happen to run into them onboard or end up on the same excursion, that's fine, too, but we need a little private time, too. Other people prefer that kind of closeness, so your DH is right and it really is up to you as to what you want to do, but for $180pp, I would jump on that deal. In addition to the C&A benefits, you will really love the extra space in the JS.

Id take the Junior suite like a shot :D Think of those cruise credits and the extras you'll get in a suite (im assuming you'd still get a balcony?) . After all you will be spending plenty of time with family and friends all day, it'll be nice to go back to your lovely suite and think of those points you have added towards future cruises.

Chubbas XX