SS suite on Zuiderdam: Pics and policies

DavidNDC

Folks:

My friends and I are booking an SS suite on the Zuiderdam. This will be our first cruise on HAL. I have two questions:

1. What do you NOT get in an SS suite on Zuiderdam that you WOULD get in an S suite?

2. Can anyone point me to any pics of an SS suite? Thanks!

An SS is merely an oversize veranda cabin---there are no real "perks" that the S-suite has. The S-suite has access to the Neptune Lounge, priority boarding, priority access to the tenders, a suite cocktail party, corsage on 1st formal night, tea service en suite, personalized stationary, and ??? I forget what else.

Someone else will add to the list, I'm sure.

Thanks, Ruth and Sierrachik!

If anyone can point me to any pics or give me any more info, I'd sure love it! Although I have been twice on NCL and twice on Celebrity and once on RCCL, this is my first time on HAL.

It sounds like SS suite might be a tiny bit inferior to the junior suite on the NCL Dawn or the mini-suite on the Celebrity Century in terms of what is offered, but I could be wrong about this.

Anyone ever get an upgrade from a guaranteed SS to a S suite? We are going on the O-dam Oct. 29th and hope the "upgrade fairy" will shine down on us. But the worst that will happen is we will end up with a nice spacious cabin and veranda at a nice price of $975! :D

Here are pics of S7056 from our Oct. 04 cruise http://www.rosemontfloral.com/cruisepics.htm. This coming October we are taking an SS rather than the S, much less expensive, by about $400 per person. The only S perk we really want is the unlimited laundry package, we will miss the larger cabin though. Last year there was not much of a price difference between S and SS, only $150pp, this year the SS is the better choice given the price difference.