Upgrade question/help

Hi there, we have booked an E1 cabin which we thought to have a sofa bed. It actually has a pullman which is totally unsuitable for our 3rd member who is 74 years old.

We went to the TA to change the room to be told there were none available, only suites which we can't afford. She suggested we just ask when we get there for a complimentary upgrade.

My question is, can it be that simple? How do I ask? I'm not very good at things like that!

Our only other option is to request the housekeeper/concierge to make up the sofa as a bed. Will they do that?

Many thanks in advance x

Hi there, we have booked an E1 cabin which we thought to have a sofa bed. It actually has a pullman which is totally unsuitable for our 3rd member who is 74 years old.

We went to the TA to change the room to be told there were none available, only suites which we can't afford. She suggested we just ask when we get there for a complimentary upgrade.

My question is, can it be that simple? How do I ask? I'm not very good at things like that!

Our only other option is to request the housekeeper/concierge to make up the sofa as a bed. Will they do that?

Many thanks in advance x

Your TA is an idiot!

Why doesn't HE ask for the complimentary upgrade???

RCL doesn't hand out upgrades just by asking. If that were so, everyone on the board would have gotten one.

Chances are your cruise will be sold out when you board.

Yes, the room attendant will make up and put away the pullman daily. If it's just a regular sofa, it won't pull out into a bed, so I guess you could just sleep on it (if you're short!) with a pillow and blanket.

Could someone else sleep in the pullman? That's probably the easiest solution.

I believe all the 3-person rooms are with pullman's but I could be wrong. I think it is the 4-person rooms that have the pull out sofabed.