Best places onboard to make new friends?

KollaCruise

I am a newbie and have tried to use the search function to try and get answers to my question, but to no avail. If it has been discussed previously I apologise.

I am hopeful some of you seasoned cruisers may be kind enough to put my mind to rest regarding where on the ship is good places to find new friends and how do people go about making friends ? I hope I dont sound like a possible Dr Laura case here :-)

We have never been on a cruise and are looking foreward to going in the next couple of months.

We have decided that we will not opt for the formal evening dinner option after reading many reviews here about formal evenings and the dining room in general. So at first I was thinking that we will sit with 4 or so other couples in the eve for dinner and we will get to know them very well, but since spending about 10 hours of reading here in the last couple of days, I now come to realise that casual dining at our own convenience, bufffet style, will suit our lifestyle better.

I just love talking (as most women in general do !) , and I am hoping to have the nessecary skills onboard to make friends early on. Suggestions I have come up so far includes:

- Signing up on a thread here for our spesific cruise to meet others before the cruise online, who will be on the same sailing.

- Attend the CC meet and greet party onboard

- We will be out and about lounging at the pool, visiting the gym, attending dance lessons etc

But where on the ship is great places to meet other perhaps chat hungry people in the same boat as me ? Any suggestions welcome as I really wonder about this.