HAL CCP vs Travel Insurance

TiogaCruiser

I know this has been discussed (and argued) at length. I am hoping for just an answer, and no arguments).:)

This is my first time using Big Box Travel and I have a few more days that I can still buy their Travel Guard policy (at a good price with cancel any reason). I want to make sure I understand how to calculate the travel insurance:

1) If a component is partially refundable, you cover the non refundable portion, correct ( such as if an item is 80% refundable, you cover the 20%, right?) But what about those things that are refundable up to 2 weeks prior, when they become non-refundable: you cover the full cost at the time of insurance purchase, correct? (I.e.: hotel partially or fully nonrefundable 2 weeks prior) Or add it on later as the non refundable window approaches?

2) One more question: I am booked and ready to get flights. If I go with HAL CCP I will book flights through HAL. I booked through Big box travel. Is that why I cannot find flight options in my booking? Or am I looking in the wrong place? Any tips on streamlining flight booking when working with a TA?

I am taking a final look at this. If I book HAL all the way (cruise + pre tour + flights) HAL CPP is very attractive for my situation. I would add on additional medical and evac as it is cheap. My own HI does provide those coverages overseas.

Edited by TiogaCruiser

Your TA should be able to answer your questions and is compensated to help.

1. Refundable tickets

If hotel or car or air are refundable, then insurance wont cover unless there are added fees to claim. Insurance would act as the secondary.

If insurance covers 80% of your non refundable cruise, then yes you cannot claim the remaining 20%.