Automatic gratuities guidelines

pamrose228

Planning on two TAs with many port stops.  Will be eating at least half my meals off the ship plus I paid for excursions that include lunches and probably will order many room service breakfasts.

Also I have 5 specialty restaurants dinners during the crossing and extra grats were added to this.

I dont want to stiff my cabin attendant so I will give him extra on the side.

I have never done this before but for so many missed meals I dont think I should pay full grats.  What do you say?

6 minutes ago, pamrose228 said:

Planning on two TAs with many port stops.  Will be eating at least half my meals off the ship plus I paid for excursions that include lunches and probably will order many room service breakfasts.

Also I have 5 specialty restaurants dinners during the crossing and extra grats were added to this.

I have never done this before but for so many missed meals I dont think I should pay full grats.  What do you say?

It doesn't work that way. Pay up the daily gratuities and then if you want to give your cabin attendant more that's fine.

Only you can make the decision of what feels right to you. If you would rather directly tip those who have made your trip special, do so. It is common knowledge that the daily "service charge" does not make it's way to the staff as they would like you to believe.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, DaCruiseBug said:

It doesn't work that way. Pay up the daily gratuities and then if you want to give your cabin attendant more that's fine.

It used to work that way.

You tipped those who you felt should be tipped.

When did you start cruising?

15 minutes ago, pamrose228 said:

It used to work that way.

You tipped those who you felt should be tipped.

When did you start cruising?