Arriving after 1pm, carry all baggage?

kywildcatfanone

I have a question.  We won't be arriving at FLL till about noon tomorrow, and then waiting on checked baggage, so I anticipate we will get to the ship at about 1pm.  I've never done it that late before, can we just take all of our luggage and carry it on and go straight to our room?  We would normally drop something with the porters, but since we are arriving so late, any reason we can't just carry all of our luggage straight on and to our room?

I suppose it depends on the size of your luggage and the size of the  security screening machines.

If your luggage is small enough, you should be OK.  I have never walked in with more than normal airplane carry on sized luggage.

Personally I would not do it, but perhaps someone who has can confirm for you.

You can do it if your luggage fits through the security scanners which are inside the terminal. FYI 1pm is a normal time of arrival for those passengers that purchased Princess pre-cruise hotel packages. You will not be alone at that time.

3 minutes ago, kywildcatfanone said:

Thanks for the replies.  Would you think an airline checked bag size would fit thru the scanners?  I've never really paid attention to how big they are.

The scanners are roughly the same size as the ones on the airline security lines.

We generally carry our bags on, which includes suitcases that are too large for airplane carryon. You need to be able to lift the suitcase onto the scanner - no one at check in will help you. We find it much easier to do self check. That way we have everything with us when we go to our room. 

Edited by RSF Cruiser
Typos

Yes. The staff repeatedly reminded us no one would help us get the suitcases on and off the scanner, which was fine with us. We also keep our suitcases with us to disembark. That way we don’t have to use valuable

vacation time before dinner to pack. We generally oack after dinner.  

48 minutes ago, kywildcatfanone said: