Istanbul - visa requirements for cruise passengers

Can anyone confirm that the following is indeed correct?

""According to the Law on Foreigners and International Protection which entered into force on 11th April 2014, those foreigners who arrive at sea ports and intend to visit the seaport city or nearby provinces for touristic purpose are exempt from visa provided that their stay does not exceed seventy two (72) hours.""

I copied this off the Turkish government website: https://www.evisa.gov.tr/en/info/

The cruise line that we are going on (Princess) says that if we take a shore excursion through them that we do not need a visa but if we go on our own, we will need a visa.

I am so confused! Would appreciate assistance.

Thanks!

Princess is pulling the oldest trick in the book in order to get you to buy one of their shore excursions.

For as long as I've been traveling to Turkey via cruise ship (since 2005, almost annually) no visa has been required for any cruise ship passenger UNLESS your cruise will begin or end in Turkey.

Otherwise you are good to go.

Can anyone confirm that the following is indeed correct?

""According to the Law on Foreigners and International Protection which entered into force on 11th April 2014, those foreigners who arrive at sea ports and intend to visit the seaport city or nearby provinces for touristic purpose are exempt from visa provided that their stay does not exceed seventy two (72) hours.""

I copied this off the Turkish government website: https://www.evisa.gov.tr/en/info/

The cruise line that we are going on (Princess) says that if we take a shore excursion through them that we do not need a visa but if we go on our own, we will need a visa.

I am so confused! Would appreciate assistance.

Thanks!

Its been a few years but in 2008 we did two private tours and didn't need anything special. Cruisecard to get off and ditto to get on, of course they secured our passports upon embarkation.