British Isles aboard Regal Princess 7/26, several questions

Posted (edited)

Hi all,  I haven't posted in cruise critic for a long while as our last two vacations have been at all-inclusives.  I work in education (special -ed.) and unfortunately the only good time to travel is during the summer.  My dream cruise is to go to the British Isles, among a few others (Canary Islands, Transatlantic, South Pacific, etc.)  I have a couple of dilemmas and am not the best decision maker, so would appreciate any advice.

Except for my very first cruise, which was a window cabin, all have been balconies and I loved them.  For this cruise, it will be a little out of our budget to get a balcony as it's a 12- night cruise to the British Isles.  There aren't any window cabins, ughh.  So it's either a small box w/o a window for 12 days, or a balcony.  Since the cruise is starting the exact same day as the Olympics, I won't be wasting the days away staring at the sea or reading books out on the balcony.  Just about every free minute I'll have in the room, I'll be wanting to watch NBC.  Since it's a port intensive cruise and I'll be trying to watch a lot of the Olympics (since I never miss them and can't possibly record 100 hours of tv and have time to watch them before school starts again,) can any of you that cruise often say if it's miserable having an inside cabin and for 12 days?