Has Zumba hit the Royal Caribbean waves yet?

• 5 years later...

Royal Caribbean is now training crew members to be zumba certified. Zumba certification literally takes a couple hours and you pay a couple hundred dollars and voila your certified. The experience I had on board at a zumba class last week was awful. They need to bring on guest instructors that teach zumba on a regular basis and that are widely known for their talent. They need to learn from Celebrity Cruiselines. I went to the zumba class on that ship and the instructor was phenomenal. Her choreography was more fun and also gave me a better workout.

I'm an instructor and was lucky enough to be able to teach classes last week on the Indy. I do not work for them and just did it for fun. I had to jump through hoops to get my class in the compass but it was successful and had good numbers. They also had a licensed employee that taught in the afternoon 2 days per week (I taught 4 mornings). The review I got on the onboard Zumba instructor was not fabulous but I never saw her in action so I cannot say. I would love to do more cruising Zumba classes but money does not allow. If you know an instructor ask if they can go with you, seriously!

Royal Caribbean is now training crew members to be zumba certified. Zumba certification literally takes a couple hours and you pay a couple hundred dollars and voila your certified. The experience I had on board at a zumba class last week was awful. They need to bring on guest instructors that teach zumba on a regular basis and that are widely known for their talent. They need to learn from Celebrity Cruiselines. I went to the zumba class on that ship and the instructor was phenomenal. Her choreography was more fun and also gave me a better workout.

Zumba Instructors are licensed and must attend an 8 hour workshop. They are highly encouraged to a fitness certification to enhance their knowledge.