Sailings in July or August to Alaska??

nissach

I am a teacher so the only months my husband and I are available to sail to Alaska are the months of July and August. Is one month preferable to another?:confused: I know sightings of whales, grizzlies, wildlife, etc are never guaranteed, but we want to choose our cruising date with the best possible chance to see all we can. I am leaning to mid to late August. Also, those of you who have been on any great excursions while sailing in Alaska, could you pass those on?

What kind of trip are you looking at? Are you sailing one way and will include Denali park? - wildlife jackpot with brown bears. OR is this a round trip cruise and you want to see bears on the inside passage? If the latter, August will be prime for bear viewing via fly ins out of Ketchikan. In July you are more limited to just Anan until about the third week.

The other jackpot wildlife area, is Kenai Fjords. This works out excellent with a Seward ship, can easily do this embarkment/disembarkment day.

I am a teacher so the only months my husband and I are available to sail to Alaska are the months of July and August. Is one month preferable to another?:confused:

Doing the exact same research as the dates I'm looking at are either 2nd week of July or 3rd week of August. The August pricing is $200+ lower per person so I am trying to convince myself if July weather is worth the difference.

Husband would probably like to do salmon fishing but he doesn't seem to care which species is running.

What kind of trip are you looking at? Are you sailing one way and will include Denali park? - wildlife jackpot with brown bears. OR is this a round trip cruise and you want to see bears on the inside passage? If the latter, August will be prime for bear viewing via fly ins out of Ketchikan. In July you are more limited to just Anan until about the third week.