Ocean Cay--Port or Starboard?

zackarykeef

Hi all...just a quick question.

We're headed to Ocean Cay on a quick weekend cruise...this is both our first time on MSC and my partner's first cruise. Trying to choose between port vs starboard for our balcony. For those of you who have been to OC before, which side typically docks/faces the island? I know it can vary in different locations, but just wasn't sure how it worked on MSC at OC. As it's the only port on this quick cruise, just trying to get the best view!

Thanks in advance!

On 7/26/2021 at 5:56 PM, eagletwo said:

Not sure why, but it seems all the ships back into Ocean Cay. That would put your view on the (starboard) right side of the ship.

They dock the ships this way because it's far easier to do the spin around maneuver in the basin with visibility during daylight hours and not approaching midnight when most of the ships depart OC.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

I’m new to MSC and this will be my first visit to their private island.  While I love the sea, I cannot be out in the sun and heat for very long at a time because of medication I take.  I’ve read that it is a gorgeous island but the vegetation is young and not many areas of shade.  I was thinking not to get off the ship here for that reason.  Is this island a must-see and I’ll regret not going?

8 minutes ago, nadalina said:

I’m new to MSC and this will be my first visit to their private island.  While I love the sea, I cannot be out in the sun and heat for very long at a time because of medication I take.  I’ve read that it is a gorgeous island but the vegetation is young and not many areas of shade.  I was thinking not to get off the ship here for that reason.  Is this island a must-see and I’ll regret not going?

Was on Aug 2 cruise. I feel it's a must see. Eating areas had sitting in shade. I can't wait to go back. Only negative was figuring out why they left at noon second day for short cruise back to Miami 

5 hours ago, nadalina said: