Help Discount TA ?

Lrob

Hello All: Reading these boards I learned that a discount online TA can save money on Princess bookings. Thank you all. I have looked on the net and found a BB A plus rated agency in the US and noted here on CC website. They do have a good discount on a room I just booked for a Panama Canal cruise. I would like to tranfer the booking. BUT - I am nervous about this. When I worked as a DA (what most people call them - in my home state it is assistant state's attorney, but most people don't use that term) there were several criminal cases involving travel agencies who made off with the goods and did not provide the service. Even absent criminal intent,the economy stinks and bankruptcy could be an issue. What is the best way to protect myself and use the discount TA? I would love to book with TA and pay Princess directly, but this doesn't look like an option from reading the website.

I may be paranoid. A real hazard of my work (criminal law). Please talk me down, affirm my concerns or offer solutions - all ideas welcomed and appreciated.

It makes me nervous, too for the same reason. We have used three different on line travel agencies. We have never had a problem. (knock wood).

However, I don't think I get as good a price as some people and am still trying to find the best deal. We do OK, though, and never pay the list price for a cruise. Once I find someone I am comfortable with, I tend to use them again. I understand I may not be getting the best deal, but the comfort of knowing that the person I am using has been honest so far goes a long way with me.