Huge penalty for cancelling one person in final week

tedwit

I am a travel agent and I booked a group of 7 cabins with 21 people leaving on the Breakaway 8/31. One cabin is a couple and the girlfriend can't make the cruise. I called NCL to cancel her off the reservation and was told that the passenger that is still going will have to pay an additional $1400 penalty on top of the full fare that he has already paid. Has anybody ever heard of this policy? I don't recall ever seeing it posted on CC. He asked for my advice and I am at a loss for words. If he just say's at check in that she couldn't make it will they charge his shipboard account? One reason he wants to have her removed from the reservation is so he can purchase the UBP for one.

If he just say's at check in that she couldn't make it will they charge his shipboard account? One reason he wants to have her removed from the reservation is so he can purchase the UBP for one.

They won't charge him...I think they'll actually refund the port fees for the no-show passenger. At that point, he shouldn't have a problem purchasing the UBP for one (since he will officially be the only passenger checked into that stateroom).

I am a travel agent and I booked a group of 7 cabins with 21 people leaving on the Breakaway 8/31. One cabin is a couple and the girlfriend can't make the cruise. I called NCL to cancel her off the reservation and was told that the passenger that is still going will have to pay an additional $1400 penalty on top of the full fare that he has already paid. Has anybody ever heard of this policy? I don't recall ever seeing it posted on CC. He asked for my advice and I am at a loss for words. If he just say's at check in that she couldn't make it will they charge his shipboard account? One reason he wants to have her removed from the reservation is so he can purchase the UBP for one.