Formal night options....

I am New to Royal Caribbean but not new to cruising .  I am researching a cruise for some friends of mine.  Are there other less formal dining options on Formal nights?  Don't get me wrong they are always well dressed but being from Texas dressed up is starched jeans, button up shirts, boots and maybe a sport coat.  I know that will be fine most nights but being their first cruise I don't want them to feel out of place by being under dressed.  Thank you in advance for any and all replies.

If you wear “starched jeans, button up shirts, boots and maybe a sport coat” you’ll be more dressed up than a good portion of your fellow guests even on formal night. 😅

• Like 3

That's more dressed up than my husband and I typically are for formal nights. We usually do khaki's and a polo shirt or a button up collared shirt for formal night, blue jeans and a t-shirt for regular nights.

As for other options if you want to avoid the main dining room on formal nights, the buffet is an option and is free, or specialty dining is an option for an extra cost.

10 minutes ago, TSUmom said:

I am New to Royal Caribbean but not new to cruising .  I am researching a cruise for some friends of mine.  Are there other less formal dining options on Formal nights?  Don't get me wrong they are always well dressed but being from Texas dressed up is starched jeans, button up shirts, boots and maybe a sport coat.  I know that will be fine most nights but being their first cruise I don't want them to feel out of place by being under dressed.  Thank you in advance for any and all replies.

No one cares anymore, formal dress is not enforced, you can dine wherever you want.

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, TSUmom said:

Thank you all for the replies, it sounds similar to NCL's dress code.  I am sure they will be happy to hear what I have to tell them. 

It is. Been on Royal for 30+ yr, first did NCL 20yrs ago. Now same same

36 minutes ago, awestover89 said: