Cruise Insurance Question

Mandy412

I'm still a cruise newbie and I've always purchased the insurance offered by NCL. What does everyone do on the board.....purchase outside insurance or what NCL offers and what are the pros and cons?

I'm still a cruise newbie and I've always purchased the insurance offered by NCL. What does everyone do on the board.....purchase outside insurance or what NCL offers and what are the pros and cons?

Here is a link to the Travel Insurance section of CC:

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/forumdisplay.php?f=635

We always purchase our travel insurance from

http://www.TripInsuranceStore.com

CALL them, don't just read the online summaries, as the fine print really matters.

Steve (owner) is the greatest resource. They sell a variety of policies from several vetted insurers.

He also helps with claims (if needed).

We've had two large claims with Travel Insured policies purchase through his company, and both were paid with no nonsense.

That is what it is all about, after all.

(He also will suggest if he thinks someone does *not* need an upgrade, etc. Hard to beat!)

I want more medical and evacuation coverage than is offered by cruise line insurance so I use outside insurance TravelGuard.

Think of it this way, the cruise line is only going to sell you coverage for the cruise. If you are flying to the port, lose your luggage, get sick, need a hospital etc. you need to cover yourself with a 3rd party insurer who offers what you want to cover.

I would also look at insuremytrip.com & squaremouth.com [better search filters]. As was posted before, the fine print is crucial. If you are not comfortable finding a policy on the website, call and talk to an agent. They will be able to explain the terms and limitations of a policy [primary vs. secondary coverage, cancel for any reason, pre-existing conditions coverage, deductibles, etc.].