Are some people too hard to please?

nw500005

Hi everyone,

My husband and I are on the 7/26 10-day Baltic cruise on Voyager. It will be our first time on Regent, having cruised on Norwegian & Princess in the past. I am also very new to CC and am enjoying reading the posts and especially the "live from" feeds.

I am concerned about a review posted on 6/24 by coffou who was on the 6/14 Voyager Baltic cruise. If you haven't read it, the person gave it a 1 star for things like public areas being dirty, dirty dishes left out too long, poor shore excursions and mediocre food.

We are expecting a luxury cruise - and while I know everyone interprets things differently - I would hope to have above-average cleanliness, excursions and food that is at least "good".

Many of you have cruised on the Voyager before and I believe some readers were on the 6/14 cruise that coffou reviewed. I am interested in knowing if you think that this is an anomaly and someone that is really really picky or should we reset our expectations a bit?

Thank you in advance for any feedback!

Nancy

Reviews are always taken with a grain of salt and some people see things they like, while the next person dislikes the same thing. One can always find a problem if one is looking for some or has some expectations which are not met. That then can for some ruin the whole experience.

Now Prosecco is not the same as champagne, but both are "sparkling wines" and so... Does it matter to me ? No. But for him/her it did.

Have I had Champagne from Brut, France ? :-)...Well, yes I did..:-) But also sparkling wine from Brut, California :-) Was the person who brought it a waiter, an assistant waiter, the sommelier etc ? I would have chuckled and enjoyed the champagne, but others would be upset. This is a cruise, not a 3 star Michelin restaurant (and I have some stories about service in Michelin restaurants too, but that's not the point here).

What restaurant was ok ? What others were just mediocre ? Etc, etc.