Quality Control Audit of Cabin Steward

NJ Fred

I have a standard practice when first entering my stateroom. I check behind the television (if it is on a cabinet/desk, etc.) and under the bed.

If an extraordinary amount of dust or any garbage is present I have a matter-of-fact talk with the cabin steward.

One steward balked alleging he was "just assigned this room one hour ago." I did my diplomatic best to assuage his feelings by shifting the blame to his predecessor and telling him: "I thought so because you impress me as being too much of a professional to leave te cabin so untidy."

I give the cabin steward one shot at doing better. If poor cleanliness persists, I take time-stamped photos and share them during an audience with the Hotel Director. I would think most Hotel Directors "get it" that the photos can be sent to the home office.

I am far from an ogre. I simply believe in getting most of what the advertising paraphernalia hypes.

Any strategies you might have would be appreciated. I want to underscore that after 68 cruises on ships of several lines I can count on one hand the number of staterooms I considered unclean upon boarding.

And if anyone feels I should consider the pressure cabin stewards face on debarkation/embarkation days, I respectfully retort (in advance) that this is part of the job - - and that supervisors should have found the housekeeping omissions before a customer did.

I have a standard practice when first entering my stateroom. I check behind the television (if it is on a cabinet/desk, etc.) and under the bed.

If an extraordinary amount of dust or any garbage is present I have a matter-of-fact talk with the cabin steward.

One steward balked alleging he was "just assigned this room one hour ago." I did my diplomatic best to assuage his feelings by shifting the blame to his predecessor and telling him: "I thought so because you impress me as being too much of a professional to leave te cabin so untidy."