Is Royal Caribbean trying to kill the Meet and Mingle?

BillOh

As I hit 35 days no announced time and date set. People leaving on Adventure this week have had 50 people signed up for awhile, but no assigned time and date yet. Or perhaps whomever updates the website is way behind? There are no current M&M's scheduled for Adventure and about 10 other ships.

I'm no expert, but I wouldn't think so... our Anthem time appeared just a few days before sailing and I was impressed that our M&M hosts were the Cruise Director (Clo), the Activities Director (Kevin) and another staff. It was entertaining and well attended.

On Harmony last week the Captain all the way down to the head of housekeeping were at the M&M. They each spoke for a couple of minutes. There must have been 8 or more officers there, as well as Abe the CD and his activity director.

the time/date assigned prior to the cruise has NEVER been the actual meeting time or place for us.

the problem there, however, is that people either do not get the revised invite in their cabin, or miss it when it is ( how many of us automatically toss out all those envelopes and sheets of paper?)

we have had one really great one( trivia questions, cookies and punch, door prizes beyond the same old pen or keychain variety, a list by a few of the senior Officers, etc) a couple of okay ones and one absolute dud.

It now seems to be the norm to only discover the date, time or place for a Meet & Mingle when you reach your stateroom! Locations can be tricky - the last one we attended (Navigator) was held mid morning on a sea day in the Diamond Crown Lounge. A great place to hold it, but it was full before the Meet & Minglers arrived and it was difficult to know who was there for the Meet & Mingle!