How to best get it all on?  (Embarkation Q) 

SempreMare

In August I'll be embarking the Westerdam in Seward, Alaska. I am new to HAL. My only other cruise was eons ago.  I've started reading the "New to Holland America" stickie topic but have only covered the most recent ~ 30 pages so far.

Could you share your thoughts about how to best load everything on the ship? 

I wasn't thinking about this till the nice agent at the Seward Hertz suggested dropping off my luggage at the cruise ship before returning my rental car.

Then, I would take the Hertz shuttle back to the ship that runs every 10 minutes.  

Questions:

1) Checked luggage  (I anticipate this will be easy...)

If I do as she advised,  will there be a place I can drive right up to unload my checked luggage?  

After looking at the Google Earth picture of the Seward Cruise Ship Terminal, my guess is I'd need to park and then walk up my checked luggage somewhere.

2) Carry on luggage  (This sounds hard.) 

For drinks, I want to bring on board: 
- 1 bottle of wine
- 12 pack of water
- Lemon lime seltzer water which I enjoy mixing with those kid size tiny cartons of fruit juice
- Zevia root beer, my new fave carbonated beverage **
- A couple non-alcoholic beers if I can find Beck's or Clausthaler

Assume I will already have one full backpack and 1 hardshell that has camera equipment and a couple other breakables.  

How would you advise I lug the drinks on board? 

** My New Year's resolution was to kick my Coke Zero, Breakfast of Champions, habit.  My watch made me realize it was making my heart race after drinking it.  When in Hong Kong for work last month I stuck to that until day 5 without anything carbonated. Then I gave in and had to get one from a McDonalds. But have been good since.  I found can be really happy with either the lemon lime seltzer water or the Zevia to satisfy my the carbonated beverage craving.

53 minutes ago, SempreMare said: