Reviews nixed or heavily edited?

jasbo49

I realize I'm tempting fate here, but I'm curious whether other people have had reviews rejected or severely edited in the "reviews" section here on Cruise Critic.

I understand the administrators or moderators have to be more careful of what they allow on the review portion of the site because people cannot answer or dispute allegations as they can on the forums.

But out of three reviews I've written for CC, I've had one heavily edited, essentially ignoring my main beef and cutting out a key name, and one rejected entirely (I think because I named a group that was rowdy and detracted from the quality of a cruise; no one ever explained why it wasn't published).

Has anyone else had this problem? I'm a former newspaper editor and have a pretty good idea of what's libelous and what's not, what's fair and what's not. I'm not inclined to write any more reviews for the "review" section. I don't like having my opinions changed or neutered.

I'm happy to put my impressions on the forums and let people respond to them, but I always thought the review section was the easiest place for others to go to see what members thought of a certain ship or cruise.

Jim

I've submitted a couple of reviews over the years - including some specific negative comments, but have not experienced editing or rejection. Now I'm curious - OP, could you repeat on this thread (as closely as you can recall) whatever negative points you may have included --- I cannot imagine raves being edited or rejected?

OP, could you repeat on this thread (as closely as you can recall) whatever negative points you may have included --- ?