Unfair business practices

silkburke12

I am livid.  I just received a call from Holland America for a Cruise that I completed paying for over four months ago.  I was told that we had to pay additional taxes.  There was no advance warning or notification about these additional charges.  In speaking with Holland, I was informed that this is normal business practice.  I find that hard to believe since I have been cruising with various lines for over 30 years and have never had this happen.  Their customer service manager informed me that she was as high as I could go to lodge my complaint.  I find this unacceptable and quite frankly, it is probably the last time I will sail with this organization.  I consider this as deceptive business practices.  Has anyone else experienced such an occurrence?

From the HAL website:

Taxes, Fees & Port Expenses

Taxes, Fees & Port Expenses are subject to change and we reserve the right to collect any increases in effect at the time of sailing even if the fare has already been paid in full.

Edited by HAL4NOW
  • Like 1

Not limited to HAL.  Below is what Celebrity says in their contract, for example.  Taxes are a pass-through for the cruise line.  How much is the additional charge and where is it being assessed? 

Important Price Terms

Celebrity Cruises Inc. reserves the right to change, whether via an increase or decrease, any published rates, including cruise rates and airfare charges, without prior notice. We reserve the right to impose on any existing booking or new bookings (whether paid in full or not) a supplement for fuel or other matters without prior notice as provided in our Passenger Ticket Contract which appears at (PDF) Guest Ticket Contract In addition, we reserve the right to pass through any third party imposed fuel or other surcharges, also without prior notice. The guest will remain liable for any applicable taxes, fees or surcharges that may be assessed by any governmental or quasi-governmental agencies.