Cunard vs Holland America

glutenhab

We've done world cruises and shorter cruises on both lines.  DWhit's comment about the itineraries is true, HAL has more interesting cruises IMO (because they have more ships).  However, if both lines were doing the same itinerary I would pick Cunard.  The speakers on board are always great. 

I choose which world cruise to take based on itinerary alone so in 2015, 2018 and 2020 I was with Cunard.  In 2017 and 2021 I was/will be with HAL.  

I'm not a foodie so that's a wash for me.  The crews are always good although I might give a slight edge to HAL on that count.  On world cruises at least the passengers are more international on Cunard (a big plus for me). 

• Like 2

I think that HAL is the line most similar to Cunard among US lines (I have no experience with P&O).

Both lines have a long history and celebrate that tradition. Both lines cater to a similar demographic, tilting largely to seniors (but not exclusively!). As a result, both lines emphasize a quieter activities and entertainment, as opposed to pool slides and climbing walls. Their ships are smaller than new ships on most other lines, and in fact, Cunard ships other than the QM2 share a hull design with HAL ships. 

The single thing I think of on HAL ships is genuinely warm service. A little warmer than Cunard and less familiar than Princess. Training may be a little below Cunard, but above many other mass-market lines. 

I find the food to be roughly equivalent to Cunard Britannia class. You have a choice to have traditional dining with set tables and seatings or anytime dining.

We love HAL and consider it our next favorite line to Cunard.  

Edited by MarkBearSF
  • Like 1

Holland America used to have a number of similarities with Cunard but lost most with new ship designs and policies.

Regarding from design and ambiance, from what I have see the closest to the Cunard interiors was the Explorer's Lounge on the Amsterdam.