Are Free Perks really Free?

tedandrhonda

I am new to cruising and I just have to ask this question, are "free perks" really "free"? I booked

a cruise that was offering a selection of various free perks such as free internet, free drinks, free gratuities, and $150 free onboard cash. I was given a choice to add two of the above perks. I then went on to price out the balcony cabin which added $960 to the cruise price. If the perks are free how come we have to pay $960?

They are not "free."

We generally spent $X on a cruise. When our favorite cruise line first offered "perks" like open bar for a fee, then $49 pp per day, the price of our cruise went to $X + 1. We didn't buy the package because it didn't include things we liked to drink and it would have cost more then what our bar bill generally was. When the cruise line started to offer the "free" perks including the open bar, we jumped on it. Our cruise was about the same price $X +1 but even though we are pretty big partiers, both of us had a hard time drinking enough to make the package worthwhile. This year we looked into another cruise, granted it was over an expensive time period but the same cruise was $2X, even factoring in the time of year and our previous pay as you go bar bill.

The cruise lines used to be able to offer low fares because they made their profits on the bar bills. Now that the alcohol is included, the only way they can break even is to charge more.