RCL stock price nosedive... why?

Ox Fan Cruiser

RCL is scheduled to report earning on or about 1/29 and latest estimates -  Could be a driving force as prices usually adjust prior to the formal reporting. 

Based on 7 analysts' forecasts, the consensus EPS forecast for the quarter is $1.41. The reported EPS for the same quarter last year was $1.53.

Edited by Jim_Iain
  • Like 3

10 minutes ago, Beachin2 said:

Coronavirus outbreak in China & Asia.  Has the potential to be a really big deal & RC put a lot of eggs in that basket.

You are correct.  CNBC has reported on coronavirus several times today and investors are reacting by selling airlines and cruise lines.  Hopefully fears are overblown.

• Like 2

Maybe, just maybe, the investment community sees the stock dropping and better investments out there. I've been investing in stocks for over thirty years and have done very well. There are three reasons to sell a stock 1) you feel the particular stock has peaked, 2) you feel it's going to drop, or 3) there are better investments out there. My vote is all three.

There is a growing sector of people out there, me included, that feel they are paying much more and getting less, so they are finding other options to spend their hard earned money.

• Like 3

11 minutes ago, jelayne said:

Carnival Corp stock has also dropped also not just RCL.

The whole sector is down plus since it had a 30% run up over the last few months.  I sold my position back in April 2018 after buying in when market turned around in 2009 area.  The news out there of Asia might/probably has an effect.  

• Like 1

53 minutes ago, grandgeezer said: